Does YOUR Chaos codex contain errors?

Discussion area for all futuristic GW games.

Moderator: Moderators

User avatar
MagickalMemories ( 754 )
Lord Logorrheic!
Posts: 15283
Joined: Thu Sep 04, 2003 11:38 pm
Location: St. Louis, MO - USA

Does YOUR Chaos codex contain errors?

Post by MagickalMemories » Tue Aug 15, 2017 3:37 am

I got the CSM codex on Saturday. Every unit I've tried to look up so far is on a different page than what's listed in the Index.
Did anyone else get this?

I did a Google search, expecting to see an uproar, but got nothing.

Eric
Lower rating? You ship first.

Give me a sense of humor Lord. Give me the grace to see a joke.
To get some humor out of life and pass it on to other folk.


I think what this situation needs is some imagination.

"...I'm a nerd, and I'm here tonight to stand up for the rights of other nerds.” – Gilbert Lowell

Want my help with a BTR or backout? All messages sent/posted should be in CHRONOLOGICAL order. Otherwise, I just won't read it.

User avatar
3eland ( 62 )
Site Admin
Posts: 2655
Joined: Tue Aug 09, 2011 5:12 pm
Location: Ontario, Canada

Re: Does YOUR Chaos codex contain errors?

Post by 3eland » Tue Aug 15, 2017 7:24 am

I heard it from a few people. Mine lines up perfectly.

/shrug
~Ryan~
I'm like superman, but without the super.

The rules for Bartertown can be found here: viewtopic.php?f=44&t=45470
Helpful guide for sending packages to Canada: viewtopic.php?f=1&t=123125

User avatar
jason1977 ( 162 )
Expert Trader
Posts: 754
Joined: Mon Aug 15, 2011 3:58 pm
Location: New England USA

Re: Does YOUR Chaos codex contain errors?

Post by jason1977 » Tue Aug 15, 2017 2:03 pm

New to buying GW are you??
In an act of kindness and respect, please respond to PMs one way or the other with in a timely manner.
Im sorry but I do not ship outside the US.
2013 BT Member Challange- 291 pts 153 models
bolt on cuteness: st 10, ap 1, range: unlimited; DEAL

User avatar
spiralingcadaver ( 454 )
Millenium Trader
Posts: 1441
Joined: Thu Jun 25, 2009 1:56 am
Location: Portland, OR
Contact:

Re: Does YOUR Chaos codex contain errors?

Post by spiralingcadaver » Tue Aug 15, 2017 3:17 pm

So, the indexed numbers or w/e don't line up with the pagination?
True, we love life, not because we are used to living but because we are used to loving. There is always some madness in love. But there is also always some reason in madness.
-Nietzsche

I expect honesty about models' conditions, thank you.

If I don't respond in a day or two, please check back, I've forgotten-sorry.

User avatar
MagickalMemories ( 754 )
Lord Logorrheic!
Posts: 15283
Joined: Thu Sep 04, 2003 11:38 pm
Location: St. Louis, MO - USA

Re: Does YOUR Chaos codex contain errors?

Post by MagickalMemories » Tue Aug 15, 2017 5:57 pm

jason1977 wrote:
Tue Aug 15, 2017 2:03 pm
New to buying GW are you??
Not even remotely, but THIS is ridiculous.
spiralingcadaver wrote:
Tue Aug 15, 2017 3:17 pm
So, the indexed numbers or w/e don't line up with the pagination?
Right.
For example, my codex index says Berzerkers and Kharn are on Pg 140.
Turn to Pg 140 and it's Chaos Spawn. Berzerkers and Kharn are, not only not nearly on that page... they're not even on the same page as each other!

Every unit I looked at was like this.

I emailed Customer Service last night. We'll see what they say.

Eric
Lower rating? You ship first.

Give me a sense of humor Lord. Give me the grace to see a joke.
To get some humor out of life and pass it on to other folk.


I think what this situation needs is some imagination.

"...I'm a nerd, and I'm here tonight to stand up for the rights of other nerds.” – Gilbert Lowell

Want my help with a BTR or backout? All messages sent/posted should be in CHRONOLOGICAL order. Otherwise, I just won't read it.

User avatar
spiralingcadaver ( 454 )
Millenium Trader
Posts: 1441
Joined: Thu Jun 25, 2009 1:56 am
Location: Portland, OR
Contact:

Re: Does YOUR Chaos codex contain errors?

Post by spiralingcadaver » Tue Aug 15, 2017 6:11 pm

Wow, that's super-lame. I thought only FW had terrible/lazy proofreading, sounds like GW proper is suffering from the same mess.

Man, I really wanted to like this edition, and think that the core mechanics are an improvement, but all of the books just seem... shoddy. Maybe this is why GW normally has a fairly slow release schedule: if this is how they handle a push, I don't think they should push any more.
True, we love life, not because we are used to living but because we are used to loving. There is always some madness in love. But there is also always some reason in madness.
-Nietzsche

I expect honesty about models' conditions, thank you.

If I don't respond in a day or two, please check back, I've forgotten-sorry.

User avatar
3eland ( 62 )
Site Admin
Posts: 2655
Joined: Tue Aug 09, 2011 5:12 pm
Location: Ontario, Canada

Re: Does YOUR Chaos codex contain errors?

Post by 3eland » Tue Aug 15, 2017 8:14 pm

Well my book is fine. From my understanding there was two prints. I have a feeling one of said prints was wrong and they will be replacing them for people.

Chaos Spawn is on page 140 for me. Both in the index and the actual page.
~Ryan~
I'm like superman, but without the super.

The rules for Bartertown can be found here: viewtopic.php?f=44&t=45470
Helpful guide for sending packages to Canada: viewtopic.php?f=1&t=123125

User avatar
MagickalMemories ( 754 )
Lord Logorrheic!
Posts: 15283
Joined: Thu Sep 04, 2003 11:38 pm
Location: St. Louis, MO - USA

Re: Does YOUR Chaos codex contain errors?

Post by MagickalMemories » Tue Aug 15, 2017 10:02 pm

Just checked email on my phone (MAN, I hate doing that!). No reply from GW yet.
: (

Eric
Lower rating? You ship first.

Give me a sense of humor Lord. Give me the grace to see a joke.
To get some humor out of life and pass it on to other folk.


I think what this situation needs is some imagination.

"...I'm a nerd, and I'm here tonight to stand up for the rights of other nerds.” – Gilbert Lowell

Want my help with a BTR or backout? All messages sent/posted should be in CHRONOLOGICAL order. Otherwise, I just won't read it.

User avatar
3eland ( 62 )
Site Admin
Posts: 2655
Joined: Tue Aug 09, 2011 5:12 pm
Location: Ontario, Canada

Re: Does YOUR Chaos codex contain errors?

Post by 3eland » Wed Aug 16, 2017 12:50 am

Took a week and a half for them to contact me lat time.
~Ryan~
I'm like superman, but without the super.

The rules for Bartertown can be found here: viewtopic.php?f=44&t=45470
Helpful guide for sending packages to Canada: viewtopic.php?f=1&t=123125

User avatar
jason1977 ( 162 )
Expert Trader
Posts: 754
Joined: Mon Aug 15, 2011 3:58 pm
Location: New England USA

Re: Does YOUR Chaos codex contain errors?

Post by jason1977 » Wed Aug 16, 2017 2:08 am

MagickalMemories wrote:
Tue Aug 15, 2017 10:02 pm
Just checked email on my phone (MAN, I hate doing that!). No reply from GW yet.
: (

Eric
When they respond, please post it here with your original. Id love too see what they say.

Jason
In an act of kindness and respect, please respond to PMs one way or the other with in a timely manner.
Im sorry but I do not ship outside the US.
2013 BT Member Challange- 291 pts 153 models
bolt on cuteness: st 10, ap 1, range: unlimited; DEAL

User avatar
MagickalMemories ( 754 )
Lord Logorrheic!
Posts: 15283
Joined: Thu Sep 04, 2003 11:38 pm
Location: St. Louis, MO - USA

Re: Does YOUR Chaos codex contain errors?

Post by MagickalMemories » Fri Aug 18, 2017 3:47 am

Email from GW:
Hello Eric,


Thank you for contacting Games Workshop!

I'd be happy to replace that for you! Could you take pictures of what you do

have? Where was this purchased? It should be on the front or side after Made in the UK.

What address can we send the replacement to?

We look forward to hearing back from you.
Address and images provided.
We shall see what we shall see.


Eric
Lower rating? You ship first.

Give me a sense of humor Lord. Give me the grace to see a joke.
To get some humor out of life and pass it on to other folk.


I think what this situation needs is some imagination.

"...I'm a nerd, and I'm here tonight to stand up for the rights of other nerds.” – Gilbert Lowell

Want my help with a BTR or backout? All messages sent/posted should be in CHRONOLOGICAL order. Otherwise, I just won't read it.

User avatar
MagickalMemories ( 754 )
Lord Logorrheic!
Posts: 15283
Joined: Thu Sep 04, 2003 11:38 pm
Location: St. Louis, MO - USA

Re: Does YOUR Chaos codex contain errors?

Post by MagickalMemories » Fri Aug 25, 2017 5:49 pm

For those who wonder, GW (VERY SWIFTLY) replaced it with a new copy and let me keep the old one.
I received it on Wed.

I have a litany of complaints about GW, but Customer Service is one thing they hit, spot on.

Eric
Lower rating? You ship first.

Give me a sense of humor Lord. Give me the grace to see a joke.
To get some humor out of life and pass it on to other folk.


I think what this situation needs is some imagination.

"...I'm a nerd, and I'm here tonight to stand up for the rights of other nerds.” – Gilbert Lowell

Want my help with a BTR or backout? All messages sent/posted should be in CHRONOLOGICAL order. Otherwise, I just won't read it.

User avatar
3eland ( 62 )
Site Admin
Posts: 2655
Joined: Tue Aug 09, 2011 5:12 pm
Location: Ontario, Canada

Re: Does YOUR Chaos codex contain errors?

Post by 3eland » Fri Aug 25, 2017 6:50 pm

Aye. Anyone that complains about GW CS is full of it.

I read a story in a Facebook Group about what *may* have happened. A dude that does book binding for a living said that the book goes into the printer in stages. Usually 30-60 pages in each stage. The Index/Table of Contents are linked to these stages. So what most likely happened was someone put in the wrong code or number and it missed an entire stage.
~Ryan~
I'm like superman, but without the super.

The rules for Bartertown can be found here: viewtopic.php?f=44&t=45470
Helpful guide for sending packages to Canada: viewtopic.php?f=1&t=123125

User avatar
MagickalMemories ( 754 )
Lord Logorrheic!
Posts: 15283
Joined: Thu Sep 04, 2003 11:38 pm
Location: St. Louis, MO - USA

Re: Does YOUR Chaos codex contain errors?

Post by MagickalMemories » Fri Aug 25, 2017 8:43 pm

Yeah, but when they create it as a pdf, or whatever, don't they already have the page numbers associated?
I mean, I'd think they would have the book ready to just print and bind, at that point. it's not up to the book binders to associate page numbers with entries.

What I think happened was that the index in my book reflects the initial set up. Later, they decided to do things a little differently, but switched things up on the entries/layout only, forgetting to update the index.
Someone later realized the error but (a) some books that had been printed in error were missed or (b -more likely) some bean counter said to send them all out, and deal with the limited number of returns. They probably figured that the shipping on new books would be less expensive than trashing an entire printing, relying on some people not to complain.

Eric
Lower rating? You ship first.

Give me a sense of humor Lord. Give me the grace to see a joke.
To get some humor out of life and pass it on to other folk.


I think what this situation needs is some imagination.

"...I'm a nerd, and I'm here tonight to stand up for the rights of other nerds.” – Gilbert Lowell

Want my help with a BTR or backout? All messages sent/posted should be in CHRONOLOGICAL order. Otherwise, I just won't read it.

User avatar
jason1977 ( 162 )
Expert Trader
Posts: 754
Joined: Mon Aug 15, 2011 3:58 pm
Location: New England USA

Re: Does YOUR Chaos codex contain errors?

Post by jason1977 » Fri Aug 25, 2017 10:53 pm

Shelf the good book. Tear up the bad book for use in a binder with clear page protectors.
In an act of kindness and respect, please respond to PMs one way or the other with in a timely manner.
Im sorry but I do not ship outside the US.
2013 BT Member Challange- 291 pts 153 models
bolt on cuteness: st 10, ap 1, range: unlimited; DEAL

Post Reply

Return to “Grimdark Futuristic”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 9 guests